Talking the Stalk

Curried Sweet Potato Soup with Lemongrass

I have wanted to use lemongrass in a dish since I purchased my all soup cook book which lists this as an ingredient in many of its soups. I also love watching Luke Nguyen who cooks dishes in the middle of busy towns in Saigon. He often uses lemongrass in his dishes as well as other Asian-type ingredients that I’ve been wanting to try.

I think it was my fear of not knowing how to handle the herb that made me hesitate. But now we have You Tube (as well as numerous other sources of information online) which offers visuals and how-to’s on every subject imaginable.

Check out this informative overview on the herb from the Gourmet Sleuth.

The lemongrass stalk is peeled down similar to a scallion and then cut at both ends. Due to its fibrousness I left the portions added to the soup large enough to fish out before blending. It has a sharp lemon and almost peppery fragrance and added tremendous flavor to this soup.

While I routinely make sweet potato soup, I don’t think I’ll ever make it the way I used to make it since tasting this intensely-flavored soup.

Immersion of flavor…

Blended creaminess…

Swirling the coconut…

This ingredient can add zing to almost any dish and recipes are super simple to locate by searching the ingredient: lemongrass. I love soup and I plan to cook many more containing this herb. Thank goodness it’s soup season.

Can you suggest an herb or spice I can make something with? Would love to hear from you!

Here’s the recipe adapted from the Jenn Cuisine Blog, Sweet Potato Coconut Thai Curried Soup.

Curried Sweet Potato Soup with Lemongrass
Makes 1 ½ quarts

1 ½ C baked peeled sweet potatoes
1 onion
5 garlic cloves
2 T canola oil
1 stalk lemongrass
1 t minced ginger
2 t curry powder (or 2 t of curry paste)
½ t coriander
½ t salt
1 ½ C stock
¾ C coconut milk

Process: sauté onion, garlic, lemon grass and ginger in the canola oil until softened. Add the chicken stock and curry powder and allow these flavors to incorporate well by cooking for about 15 minutes. Add the sweet potatoes and cook for another 5 minutes. Remove from heat and remove the lemon grass stalks then puree in a blender. Bring back to heat and add coconut milk and cook for an additional 5 minutes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers