Golden Layer Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

I have been wanting to make a layer cake for a while but these can be dangerous.  I also did not have the proper baking pans for this.  I’ve been looking for simpler cake recipes and while investigating Cake Love, I found one.  I used his recipe for “yellow cake” .  Mr. Brown advises one to use a little bit of potato starch to create a better formed cake.  I understand his ideas regarding gluten and how over-beating and over handling of the flour can create a dry cake.

Here is the finished cake which was good but I thought a bit “dryer” than previous recipes I’ve used.

I also think the cream cheese frosting could have been better.  I’ve made it so often that I didn’t measure the ingriedients which is always a mistake.  I sometimes get a little cocky.

I sliced up the cake and handed it out to neighbors and friends.  The response was good!

See what I mean by ‘nothing chocolate’…  What can be better than butter cake with cream cheese frosting?!  Heaven!!

One Comment on “Golden Layer Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting”

  1. eliz says:

    wow looks great! i love love cream cheese frosting 🙂


Leave a Reply

