Easy Being Green: Collards

Man do I love vegetables and collard greens are one of my favorites, although I became acquainted with them late in life. They’re easy to clean and prepare and I always prepare them spicy and hearty.
They begin at the “you-can-hardly-believe-they’re-edible” stage: huge, deeply colored green leaves that are stiff until hit with boiling water. I blanch them for a couple of minutes then add plenty of onion, garlic and chilies. They are the bomb!

Do the kids still use that expression?

I transitioned from cooking collard greens with bacon and spices, then bacon and smoked turkey wings and spices, now I don’t use any meats, only olive oil and spices. I sauté the onion, garlic, chilies (Thai chilies or whatever type of heat is around) in olive oil then continue cooking the blanched collards in the mixture.
Look at these beauties!

2 Comments on “Easy Being Green: Collards”

  1. SHARINA JOHNSON says:

    THEM GREENS LOOKS DELICIOUS.I WOOD LOVE TO TRY THEM.


Leave a Reply

