Ham & Cheese, Please!

Mac ‘N Cheese

Glazed Ham

What flavors do you add to a cured ham? The curing process is supposed to infuse flavor so why even bother to add more? I’ve found that most cured foods are basically salty (I’m not sure if manufacturers add anything other than salt in the curing) and foods abundant in any one flavor are not usually good. So I need to try and get some of the salt out of the cured ham.

I did not have a pot big enough to “boil away” the salt so I ran it under cool water for a few minutes hoping it would “rinse” the salt away. I have to look for a better method since the done ham was still a bit on the salty side.

My glaze was quite flavorful. I used: molasses, mustard, honey, pineapple juice, and garlic. I stuck cloves in every inch of the meat and added pineapple slices. It is truly a beauty to behold, I must say!

Look at the “juiciness of it”!

The sweet/salty taste was superior and the ham was so tender and as soft as butter at room temperature. Everyone enjoyed this ham.

Mac N’ Cheese

I have to admit, I am not a big fan of mac and cheese I think it’s because I’ve never had any that actually taste cheesy. The processed cheese is the reason for this. Even my dish here was not cheesy-tasting enough.

I kind of knew going in that the cheese I used would not make it cheesy tasting because of the type of cheese and because I’m not an experienced mac n’ cheese maker so I sautéed garlic in some cooked bacon hoping this would add flavor. It did. The cheese I used: swiss, cheddar, mozzarella, and American, did not add much flavor and I believe it was because the way commercial cheese is manufactured – a great deal of oil is added to create volume. This is called inexpensive cheese.

When I melted all the cheeses, the texture was lumpy and I wanted it to be creamy so I added sour cream which helped. In the end, this mac n’ cheese was full of texture and flavor! If I make it in the future, I will again use bacon, garlic and onion for added flavor. Oh, and I sprinkled nutmeg over the top before baking it. It was a pretty big hit!

Leave a Reply

