T’aint a Cake, ‘Tis a Tort

I bought more strawberries than I knew what to do with so there began the search for a delicious recipe containing strawberries. I looked around but nothing appealed to me except when I looked in my copy of Swedish Cakes and Cookies and found a photo of a cake exploding with cream (and no chocolate to speak of).

I thought yes, I can add strawberries to this, why not.

Fluffing up the egg whites…

Creaming the powdered sugar and butter…

Wash and sprinkle your strawberries with a little powdered sugar (picture above).

Create the wonderfulness that is whipped cream. (No picture of this, but if you’re like me, the visual is planted in my brain.)

And assemble your completed components.

Here is the assembled cake (top) before baking and after:

Oh my, my, my, my…

Pinocchio Tort
5 T butter, softened
¾ C powdered sugar, sifted
5 egg yolks (I used 4)
2/3 C flour
1 ½ t baking powder
4 T milk

Meringue:
5 egg whites (I used 4)
¾ C sugar (I used ½ C)
½ C sliced almonds

Filling:
8 oz. whipping cream
2 T powdered sugar
quartered strawberries sprinkled with powdered sugar

Beat butter, sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg yolks, one at a time. Combine flour, baking powder and add milk. Pour into prepared sheet pan (10 x 12 ½” or close to this) and spread with spatula.

Spread the beaten egg white mixture over the cake batter. Sprinkle with almonds. Bake on center rack until meringue is golden and cake is dry (about 20 minutes).

Let cake cool. Turn out and cut evenly in half. Spread whipped cream on top of one half, almond side up. Top with quartered strawberries. Place other half on top of this, almond side up. Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

