For Protein, Add Ricotta

Ricotta Orange Pound Cake

I don’t understand why ricotta cheese is not a staple cheese. It has a creamier, milder taste than cottage cheese and can sub for cottage cheese when increasing protein in your diet. (Although I prefer cottage cheese with fruit like pineapples and peaches.)

It’s satisfying when adding just a tablespoon along side some hummus and cucumbers (my new favorite snack). And, as I’ve discovered (probably should have remained unchartered territory), it is delicious when used to bake cakes and pastries.

Ingredients for cake:

Yes, I caught a sale and only the gargantuan size container of ricotta was on sale. But this was an excuse to use it in a new recipe. Okay, ricotta-cheese cake isn’t new, but I’ve never made it.

I caught a glimpse of the segment of Giada DeLaurentis making this cake then went online to get the recipe.

Yup, I have enough cheese to put into this cake with some to spare.

The cake was simple to make but watch out, it is super rich! Using low-fat cheese really isn’t going to help anyone indulging in this cake.

Ricotta Orange Pound Cake

1 1/2 C flour
2 1/2 t baking powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt (use less, salt in cheese)
1 1/2 sticks butter
1 1/2 C ricotta cheese
1 ½ C sugar + 1 T
3 eggs
1 t vanilla
1 orange, zested
2 tablespoons Amaretto (I used 1 t of almond extract and 2 T milk)
Powdered sugar, for dusting

Creaming: butter, ricotta, sugar
Wet: eggs, vanilla, almond, zest
Dry: flour, salt, baking powder

Process
Add the wet ingredients to the creamed mixture (add eggs one at a time) then add the dry ingredients.
Bake in a greased, 9x5x3” pan for about 50 minutes at 350 degrees. Let cool, dust with powdered sugar.

Mixing:

Before:

After:

Take small bites, savor each one…

2 Comments on “For Protein, Add Ricotta”

  1. Judith says:

    My family and I, had the pleasure of sampling this cake and it was amazing! I can wait to try my hands at this one. Thanks Donna.


Leave a Reply

