Oatmeal (Cookies) For Breakfast

My all-time favorite cookie, oatmeal!

Why is it that I cannot like oatmeal as a cereal? Could it be the butter, or perhaps the sugar that’s in the cookie?

I just never could get used to the lumps in oatmeal. And yes, I know, it’s one of the healthy, lower-your-cholesterol, foods. I did try to like it, I really did.

My hot cereal has got to have a creamy, smooth texture. I make an amazing farina which I learned to make from Mom. I add vanilla, a little sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg. (I suppose I could post that recipe a little later.) My grand-daughter still asks for it when she visits, doesn’t matter if it’s breakfast time or not.

This recipe is from Swedish Cakes & Cookies and uses a different technique. (Normally, butter and sugar are creamed together as opposed to melted on the stove.) The result was a sweet, crunchy, yet chewy, deliciously flavorful cookie. I plan to make these again but will spread the batter much thinner for an even crunchier crunch. The easy recipe is below.

Oatmeal Lace Cookies

5 T butter
1/3 C rolled oats
1/2 C flour
1/3 C sugar
2 T light cream or milk 2 T light corn syrup or molasses
1/4 t baking powder

Process:
Melt butter. Add remaining ingredients. Heat, stirring constantly until slightly thickened. Spoon batter onto parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Bake on center rack for about 12 minutes at 350 degrees. The thinner the batter, the shorter the cooking time and the crunchier the cookie.

Leave a Reply

