Rosemary & Garlic Lamb With Smashed Sweet & White Potatoes

Boneless Leg of Lamb with Rosemary & Garlic and Smashed Sweet & White Potatoes

Really craving some sweet-tasting, not-too-fatty, lamb.

Went all the way out to Stew Leaonard’s because the grocers in the city that I know, would not be able to provide what I was looking for within the budget I set for myself.

Stew Leonard’s is a nice drive out to Yonkers and my love for nice, clean grocery stores is met here so I always look forward to going. They had a nice selection of fresh cuts of lamb. I chose a nice size piece of the slightly more pricey, boneless leg. I don’t know that much about the different cuts but I do know that removing the bone is a luxury one has to pay for. Keeping the bone in makes the meat more moist and flavorful but I was planning to do a few things other than oven-roasting this meat.

Here I put the following flavors together: garlic, fresh rosemary, olive oil, salt & pepper and created a marinade for the lamb. I sliced up the lamb into quarter inch thick by three inch pieces because I wanted to quickly pan-fry them right before eating.

My goodness, lamb has such a unique flavor and adding the garlic and rosemary just really makes the best of that flavor!

Please pan fry these small pieces for about 7 minutes only, any time over that would create a dry bite-sized, mouthful of meat.

My sides here are collard greens and smashed sweet and white potatoes.

The collards I’ve made over and over again, it’s a hearty vegetable that I often eat on its own when I want a light, but filling meal (the added vegetables and oil make it filling). I wash, cut and blanch the greens then I sauté in the following: onion, garlic, chili pepper, canola, salt, and pepper.

The smashed sweet and white potatoes are a new recipe. I bake my potatoes because I don’t like what boiling does to them; no matter how long you leave them to drain, water is still in the potato and in the flavor, not good.

I roasted all of the following together: three sweet potatoes, two small white potatoes, one onion, four cloves of garlic, one tablespoon of rosemary, and one tablespoon of olive oil.

When the potatoes are softened they’re done. I pureed the roasted onion and garlic and added to the peeled potatoes with about three tablespoons of butter (salted). Then I roughly mashed them with a fork and added fresh ground pepper and salt to taste.

The flavor combinations of this meal were spectacular! Looking for another marvelous flavor combo, perhaps something a little less traditional.
Oh, one thing, I incorporated my flavors into two of my meal dishes which I think helps to link their flavors and create a well-coordinated meal.
Hope you try it and like it!

Leave a Reply

