New Condiment That I Love

Truffle Salt

While on a search for a birthday gift for a good friend, I stumbled upon a great store called O & Company (Oliviers & Co.). They sell olive oils imported from different regions of the world. It was weird because it was only the second day the store was opened and I was still undecided about a gift and the sales person immediately offered some great suggestions.

Of course, when purchasing a gift I can’t leave the most important person out — myself! I just took one whiff of the truffle salt the salesperson pointed out and thought yes, a delicious new flavor! In the back of mind I thought the extravagance was indulgent (the 1.05 oz. jar was $15!!). But this is the cost of truffles. I also thought I could use it sparingly and I need to expand my cooking flavors anyway. So I took the plunge!

I used it as a theme when I made these cute Cornish hens and artichoke hearts.

The hens I rinsed and dried and made a rub for that included: 1 tablespoon of minced fresh onion, 1 teaspoon of minced garlic, 1 tablespoon of canola oil and about ¼ teaspoon of the truffle salt. That’s it!

Of course basting is a must to produce moist hens. The seasoning combined with the juices of the roasting hens created a tremendous flavor!

I used the frozen artichoke hearts from Birds Eye. This small package costs about $5, the most expensive frozen veggie I have ever bought! (I have yet to attempt fresh artichokes, but will take the challenge soon).

I sauteed ¼ cup of chopped onion, 2 cloves of garlic, and ½ teaspoon of the truffle salt. After cooking, I topped the artichokes with a sprinkle of pecorino romano cheese. This is added salt so if you are on a low-sodium diet you should skip the cheese. The flavor of this dish was very potent and delicious.

Leave a Reply

