Cheesecake or Pound Cake, Have Them Both

Cream Cheese Pound Cake

When I watched Martha Stewart make this cake (Martha Stewart Bakes), I was amazed at the simplicity and thought, “where has this recipe been all my life?”.

I am a lover of both cheese cake (the creamy fruitless is always my choice) and moist pound cake but never imagined putting these two together. I guess I need to get out more… That’s a story for another time.

Creaminess is my favorite texture, my mouth LOVES this experience!!! Lately, since my weight loss, I’ve given up many creamy foods, such as cream in my coffee (oh, how I miss you!) and realize I can still have creaminess in my life and really, really enjoy it when I have it occasionally.

The recipe is one of the simplest I’ve ever followed and it produces one of the best tasting cakes I’ve had!

Density = Cream cheese + butter

Here’s the recipe:

Cream Cheese Pound Cake (Martha Stewart Bakes)
Makes 2 loaf cakes
1 ½ C butter (3 sticks)
8 oz. cream cheese
3 C sugar (I use ¼ C less, too “sugary”)
2 t vanilla
6 eggs
3 C flour
1 t salt

Process

Cream together: butter, cream cheese, sugar. Add vanilla. Add eggs, one at a time and mix well. Sift the flour and combine with salt. Add flour mixture to creamed mixture and take care not to over mix. Add to greased/parchment lined pans and bake at 350 degrees for about 50 minutes.
Serving suggestions: with fresh whipped cream and berries, fruit puree, or with powdered sugar.

I like it solo with a glass of milk.

There you go! Easy to make, moist, rich, delicious – and nothing chocolate!

Leave a Reply

