Roasted Chicken, Jerk Style

Like it hot or not?!

When I crave jerk chicken I usually make a run down to Utica Avenue, Brooklyn, NYC. These guys have grills on the sidewalk smoking up aromas of spice and meat! The jerk foods are always liberally seasoned and satisfyingly spicy!

I don’t have a grill so I have to get creative with my oven! Of course an oven is no substitute for a grill, especially the outdoor kind, but I am very satisfied with the final product!

First, get the best and freshest whole chicken you can find. Pull together your jerk ingredients: Grace Jerk seasoning (I use the mild, it’s pretty spicy), thyme, cumin, and salt. I make a “paste” or a semi-dry marinade adding minced onion, garlic, and olive oil.

Rub your chicken with the jerk paste and refrigerate over-night or for a few hours before roasting.

Roast chicken at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes with the breast of the chicken covered in aluminum foil then reduce the heat to 350 to complete cooking.

I served this chicken with string beans I sautéed in olive oil and garlic with added sliced almonds.

Will I EVER get tired of chicken??? Probably not. It is delicious and can be cooked, grilled, roasted, in so many different ways. The spices used and method of cooking, alter the flavor making this meat extremely versatile.

Looking for more adventurous methods to cook chicken. Does anyone have an over-the-top idea for cooking chicken? I may be willing to try it as long as it has nothing chocolate in it…

2 Comments on “Roasted Chicken, Jerk Style”

  1. bob515t says:

    The Roasted Jerk Chicken looks very appetizing.

    … better than some I’ve had on the avenue:-)

    How does the taste compare to the grilled jerk?
    Does roasting result in more nutritional value?

    Anyway, I’m imagining it right now … with black beans and rice

    Yummmmmmmm

    • Well, the grilled jerk, in my opinion, has a more intense, kind of “sealed in” flavor. I’ve never seen a whole chicken grilled only chicken portions making the flavor and spice able to reach all areas of the chicken. Each bite is flavor… Have to investigate the nutritional value of roasting to grilling and get back to you. Thanks so much for commenting!!! Oh, I think I would use red beans with traditional “West Indian” spices such as coconut milk to accompany the jerk chicken. Sound good?


Leave a Reply

