Black Bean Soup

Whoever thinks that soup alone is NOT a meal, better think again.

I make this soup based on my PR (Puerto Rican) roots from my mom’s side of the family. I use a “sofrito” and I use pork.

Attempting to make this soup a bit healthier, I used a lean cut of pork but the flavor suffered a tad so I’ll use a richer cut next time just less of it, for flavor.

I make this soup pretty much the same way I make black beans only I use more spices and chicken stock. I also added carrots and potatoes, making it a full meal.

Have it with a cool salad or serve it the way I did, with slices of avocado and a little olive oil drizzle.

My entire apartment smells like Mom’s used to. I feel I’m getting pretty close to her superior cooking skills and with each attempt at these PR dishes, I hear her whispering, “Donna, it’s smellin’ good”.

This hearty soup really fills and warms you up!

Ingredients: sofrito (onion, garlic, red or green pepper, jalapeno, cilantro, oregano, salt, and pepper), olive oil, pieces of pork, lean or not, cut into 1” pieces, can of black beans, tomato sauce, carrot, potatoes, chicken stock, and Goya sazon.

Process: Thoroughly cook the meat in olive oil. Add the sofrito and cook until the meat is thoroughly infused with the spices. Add chicken stock and tomato sauce. Cook until boiling and add carrot, then potatoes and finally add your beans. Cook for a final 15 minutes. Let cool and serve.
The idea is to infuse the stock, meat and beans with the flavors and aromas of the spices in the sofrito.

Leave a Reply

