Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

My all-time favorite cookie: oatmeal, with or without raisins…

And why add chocolate to an already delish cookie? Add it, bake it, taste it and you won’t have to ask. Add walnuts and you have absolute perfection!

OK, this cookie has neither raisins nor nuts but it is still really, really, good!

I did my usual Internet search for a recipe looking particularly at the quantity of oats over flour. I found this one:

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies (adapted from Like Mother, Like Daughters)

Ingredients

¾ C butter softened
¾ C brown sugar
1 egg
1 t vanilla
3 C oats
1 C flour
1 t salt
½ t baking soda
1 C chocolate chips

Process

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream the butter and sugar, and add the egg. Add the combined remaining dry ingredients and mix well. Add the chocolate chips. Drop tablespoons of dough onto parchment lined baking sheet. Press down the tops of each cookie to flatten slightly. Bake for 12-15 minutes.

After trying these cookies,

which were exceptionally good, I came across another recipe that I decided to try since I wanted a more chewy, less crunchy cookie. And I’m not sure but I think it’s the amount of sugar in the recipe that makes the cookie crisp.

Well, I used the Tartine Bakery’s Chocolate-Oatmeal-Walnut Cookie recipe. (I recently discovered that the Tartine Bakery is a husband and wife baking team bakery located in San Francisco; another reason to make that trip to California.)

Man oh man, this is a cookie!!

I did add walnuts to this cookie and did press them down as suggested. But the baking, as I also realized while baking this cookie, determines the chewiness or crunchiness. The recipe suggests “under baking” a bit for increased chewiness.

I created little Ziplock baggies of three or four cookies and handed them out to the attorneys I’ve become friendly with at work. And they all had pleasant responses!

I’m telling you, this was a great cookie!!

NOT the Tartine cookie…

2 Comments on “Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. shinky says:

    Hi, Donna Im Just Checkig In I know I Haven’t Been Commenting In A while……Buht The Cookies Looks Yummmy!! ❤

    • Hey, Shinky! Thanks for commenting!!! They do look good, I have to admit. They tasted good or I should say the second batch (recipe) tasted really, really good! I’m making those cookies this weekend, Shaniya can bring some to you if you want.


Leave a Reply

