The Cream is in the Pudding


Cream Cheese Bread Pudding – Mixings

I long ago discovered my affliction which makes me lose control around all things BREAD!

At the sight of a fresh roll, my eyes glaze over and I immediately begin two discussions in my head about how soft, smooth and silky it would taste but how eating one bite would disrupt my healthy-eating efforts and possibly send me on a bread bender.

So I normally steer clear of bread-related areas and events which include bakeries, grocery store bread departments, farmer’s market bread tents, baking blogs, and recipes that include bread!

The first time I thought about making bread pudding was some time ago when a colleague had me taste hers. She told me what she went through to make it which included using day-old Italian bread which is soaked in the liquid ingredients and then blended in a blender and finally baked.

I suppose there are bread pudding recipes like these but this bread pudding recipe has a difficulty rating of about a 2.

I had a copy of this recipe for a while and have been meaning to try it. I opened up my recipe folder and came across it again and intentionally with forethought – caved!

I went out of my way to purchase my most favorite of favorite breads, the Challah bread. I typically run past it in the market with my head turned in the opposite direction but I used it in this recipe. I later realized that just about any bread will make this recipe just as delicious because of its additional creamy ingredients.

Before baking…

…before eating…

This bread pudding was sinfully good and tasted like it involved much more labor.

It’s simple preparation is motivation to make it more often. However, buttoning my size 14 slacks is a much more powerful motivation for me right now. Maybe I’ll make it again next year.

Here’s the super simple and yummy recipe. I made a cream cheese icing glaze to top it.

Cream Cheese Bread Pudding

Ingredients
8 oz. cream cheese, softened
1 C sugar
3 eggs
1 1/2 C milk
1 T vanilla
10 C of bread, cubed

Process
Preheat oven to 350F and grease a 9 x 13″ pan.
Cream the sugar and cream cheese together. Beat in the eggs and mix until very smooth then slowly blend in the milk and vanilla. Add the cubed bread and stir to make sure it soaks up the liquid. Pour into prepared pan. Bake for 30 minutes until pudding springs back slightly when touched and the edges have turned golden brown.

Cream Cheese Icing
3 T cream cheese
1/4 C powdered sugar
1/2 t vanilla
1/4 C (or less) milk

Process: mix all ingredients together until smooth and pour over cooled bread pudding.

2 Comments on “The Cream is in the Pudding”

  1. Alison says:

    This recipe seems like a labor of love; nothing but the bread pudding. Love it Donna

    • Yes, when making bread it’s never work! Still looking for a baking internship… I will BAKE FOR FREE!!! I held onto this recipe for a while then finally made it. I seriously have an addiction to bread…
      thank you for posting, Alison!


Leave a Reply

