Sunny & Bright: Lemon Cream

My 2012 Birthday Cake That I Shared

Lemon Cream Cake
Lemon and cream, yes, how lovely and refreshing!

Just look at these bright beauties!!!

Still trying to lose the winter hibernation weight I gained I thought it would be safer to make a “lighter” cake this year. I actually did not go lighter, but went “less of” and made half the recipe and split the cake layer.

This cake is really rich and lemon-y (recipe by Ina Garten who is notorious for creating rich foods). I added lemon glaze to each layer before adding an organic whipped cream with just a touch of lemon.

Oh, how moist and fresh!  Look at all those lemon-glaze-capturing crevices…

So bright and full of flavor!

The cake was simple aside from grating the lemons and whipping the cream but if you have a grand-daughter handy, she can assist with that.

Creamy layer…


My friend and neighbor, Richard, was born a day before me so this was a perfect opportunity for me and my friend Bob to get together with Richard and his wonderful wife, Judith.  We had a really nice little combination celebration!

After the first bites, the comments went like this: “Oh, this is so good.” “Mmmmm, very tasty.” “The cream is so light and I taste the lemon.” “Can I have another slice?”

My complaint – ends of the cake were a little dry. I must develop a better cake doneness test. I usually wait to see the cake separating from the sides of the pan but have come to realize this is a little too late. I’ve begun to use the toothpick method which is a bit better. Perhaps the brand new oven method might work best.

The recipe:

Lemon Cake (Ina Garten, Food Network.com)

Ingredients

2 sticks butter
2 C sugar
4 eggs
1/3 C lemon zest
3 C flour
½ t baking powder
½ t baking soda
1 t salt
1/4 C freshly squeezed lemon juice
¾ C buttermilk
1 t vanilla

Process
Preheat oven for 350 degrees F. Grease 2 8” pans.

Cream the butter and sugar. Add the eggs one at a time and mix well. Add the lemon zest.
In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. In another bowl combine buttermilk, lemon juice and vanilla. Add the flour mixture and the liquid to the creamed mixture alternately, careful not to over mix.
Pour into prepared pans and bake for about 35-40 minutes.

Lemon Glaze: ¼ C powdered sugar, 1 T lemon juice, ¼ t vanilla. Combine all and mix well.
Lite Lemon Whipped Cream: 8 oz. organic heavy cream, 1 T powdered sugar, ¼ t vanilla, ½ t lemon juice. Mix all ingredients until light and fluffy. Fill a pastry bag for piping.

Lemon Cream Cake to enjoy throughout the summer season…

2 Comments on “Sunny & Bright: Lemon Cream”

  1. Pam Cook says:

    Love the look of the lemon cake and cookies. I cannot wait to come to the city and taste the goodies. Congrats on your sale!

    • Hey Pam!!! Thanks so much! I know I stay with the same flavors over and over, lemon & strawberry — but they make the most delicious desserts! Just tested out some butter lemon cookies I’m planning to make for gifts and for a holiday party. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, yummy!
      Thanks for posting. I’ll talk to you soon!


Leave a Reply

