What Color is That Smoothie?

Kale Smoothie

Discovered kale recently (well, not that recently since I posted a while back on the splendor of kale).

It is full of nutrients and is from the broccoli family of veggies.
When I was first introduced to this smoothie I was hesitant to even taste it due to its color. I really thought I would have a mouth full of bland tasting vegetables. I was pleasantly surprised and now make these odd-colored smoothies all the time!

Since I often get the green power drink at Gary Null’s Whole Foods which is made mostly with kale, I decided to attempt to make it, or something close to it, myself.

I wash and blanch the organic kale. And add the following to the blender:

4 ice cubes crushed in blender
1 C kale
1/4 to 1/2 banana
1 t minced ginger
1/2 lemon (or other citrus fruit)
1/2 C strawberries (or other favorite fruit or berry)
1/4 to 1/2 C apple juice

The apple juice, ginger and citrus are absolutes in this recipe — they are key to the refreshing taste. Although you can use carrot juice or another light juice (I have also used water on occasion).

So good and so good for you, too!

Don’t let the color deter you.

2 Comments on “What Color is That Smoothie?”

  1. Shinky says:

    Hi Donna!
    I Know I Havent Comented On Your Blog In Ah While But That Smoothie Is Looking Great…….Nice Work!


Leave a Reply

