Biggest Birthday Cake

BriannaCake

I was asked to make this cake and what a pleasure it was to make!

I used one and a half of the butter cake recipe! Wow, a lots ‘a butta’!!

Look at how much cake there is:

BriannaCake2

I initially made a simple vanilla butter cream frosting (my first) but did not like the flavor. I thought perhaps I could lighten the flavor a bit by adding freshly whipped cream. The science project failed.

Something about combining butter with air-whipped cream… Requires further investigation.

I recently practiced making cannoli cream, just to practice because I love the flavor. I loved the flavor so much I thought perhaps I could use it as a frosting. No, too runny (the ricotta contains too much water).

I was thinking of making it anyway since I was pressed for time and couldn’t come up with anything better. Who said birthday cakes have to have frosting anyway? Isn’t a flavorful icing preferable to a frosting that lacks flavor?

I turned into Donna, the scientist again and experimented by whipping additional cream and adding a small amount to a small amount of the cannoli cream.

It worked! Only THE best flavored frosting I’ve ever tasted (or made)!

This is Brianna’s birthday cake.

Recipe Butter Cake (Makes 2, 10″ layers)
3 3/4 sticks softened butter
3 C sugar
6 eggs
1 1/2 t vanilla
1 t almond extract
3 1/3 C flour
1 1/4 t baking powder
1/4 t salt
1 1/4 C milk

Process: cream butter and sugar, blend till light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time and mix well. Add the vanilla and almond extracts. In a separate bowl add flour, baking powder and salt. Add the flour alternating with the milk to the creamed butter and sugar. Careful not to over mix. pour into 10 inch layer prepared pans and bake at 350 F for about 30-35 minutes.

Frosting
Cannoli Cream: 1 1/4 C ricotta cheese (drained), 4 oz. neusfchatel cheese, 1/2 C confectioners’ sugar, 1/2 t vanilla, pinch of cinnamon.
Add all ingredients to a processor and blend. Fold in the whipped cream.

Whipped Cream: 16 oz. whipping cream, 2 T confectioners’ sugar, 1 t vanilla.
Mix all ingredients till light and fluffy. Slow mixer down to prevent over-mixing.

BriCake3

This cake got rave reviews…
“Donna, the cake was so delicious. Thank you.”
“The frosting is really good!”
“You know I love your cakes!”

BriCake4

Leave a Reply

