Mango Salsa, Baby!

mango salsa

mangoes

These are sweet, creamy, hearty mangoes from Mexico!

Bought so many of them and ate many raw, baked with some and just made this salsa.

The Ataulfo mango from Mexico – learn more.

Over the last holiday season I was researching mail-order food items for an article and came across this, Just Peachy peach salsa developed by the Food Bank of New Jersey from left-over seasonal peaches. Hmmmm, a fruity twist on salsa — refreshing…

Just Peachy Peach Salsa

I contacted the developers to request a sample and they referred me to some grocers who stock it. After calling a few and getting no samples, I put it on the back burner and thought, have to make a trip out to Jersey to explore their grocery stores and grab a jar of it while I’m there.

When these mangoes recently went on sale it gave me the opportunity to create my own fruity, mango salsa. And how hard could that be?

Fruity with a bit of tang and spice all in one mouthful!

I ate it with hummus and pitas and used it to top my avocadoes here.

mango salsa

Have it with chips or on top of a baked potato with sour cream. It would even make a nice addition to vanilla ice cream or plain pound cake.

Mango Salsa
Ingredients Yield = half quart
2 ripe mangoes
½ C fresh pineapple
1 C sweet yellow & orange bell peppers
¼ C scallions
2 T parsley
1 small tomato
pinch of salt

Process: pulse the peppers, scallions and parsley in a food processor. Dice the remaining ingredients and toss all these together.

As simple and refreshing as a summer breeze… Just my speed as I am so tired of this wintry weather!

Looking forward to the splendor of fruit varieties soon to come!

mango salsa

Leave a Reply

