Finally Found Fabulous Fiber

Bran Muffin

I never searched for a good bran muffin recipe I just assumed that I could never make a moist, delicious bran muffin with healthy organic ingredients myself.

My first search struck gold – bran gold. I fell completely in satisfaction with the first bran muffin recipe I tried!

When I eat a muffin I always choose either a bran muffin or if there are no bran, a carrot muffin.  After all, muffins are cake in disguise and if they contain some ingredient I know has some nutritional value, I’m much more comfortable eating it.

Bran Muffin

Mmmmm, moist muffin.

Bran Muffin

I became accustomed to the huge oat bran muffins from Fairway costing $1.89 with no list of ingredients available anywhere.  Over the years that I’ve eaten their bran muffins I had noticed a change in the recipe.  The most recent changes made me keep returning for them.  They were richer and moister and now contained chunky walnuts!  Although, still no ingredient list.

Bran Muffin

This is my “huge” bran muffin.

Bran Muffins

One day I finally stopped myself and said, hey, I bake, I’m a baker – why am I buying baked goods at $1.89 a run without knowing what ingredients are used to bake them?!  Convenience and flavor is all I could come up with.  Yet since I love to bake I could knock convenience out of my reasoning.  All that was left was flavor.

Have to find a flavorful bran muffin, hmmmmmm…

Did a Google search for “healthy bran muffins” and got tons of recipes.  I chose Farm Girl Fare’s recipe for my first go and I was in love!

These muffins include all healthy ingredients and I used all organically grown products.

I have not eaten another bran (or any other variety) muffin since!

I recently took some over to my meditation group and the muffins got top-notch reviews!  We were all in need of a little internal cleansing and the ingredients in this muffin… well, see for yourself, the recipe is below.

Farm Girl Fare Bran Muffins

2 C wheat bran
1 C oat bran (I used rolled oats that I processed)
1 C whole wheat flour
2 t baking soda
1 t baking powder
½ t salt
2 eggs
2/3 C milk
2/3 C yogurt (I used Greek)
1/3 C safflower oil (I used canola)
1/3 C molasses
1/3 C honey (I used more honey and less molasses)
1 t vanilla

Process:  combine the wheat bran, oat bran, whole wheat flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl and set aside. Combine the eggs, milk, yogurt, canola oil, molasses, honey and vanilla in a small bowl and mix well. (Note: you can use all honey or all molasses instead if desired.)

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix with a rubber spatula just until combined.
Generously fill the muffin cups with batter.  Bake at 350 degrees until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 20 to 25 minutes.  Makes about 14-16 muffins.

For even more fiber and flavor (and texture) feel free to add 1/4 cup of walnuts (or another favorite nut) and 1/4 cup of organic raisins.

BranCollage

Leave a Reply

