Nutty Zucchini

Matchstick Zucchini with Toasted Almonds

Adapted from Bon Appétit Magazine, June 2013

Matchstick Zucchini

Food passion has me seeking food in all forms. I crave visuals, flavors, discussions… And I get them wherever and whenever I can.

I study cook books, peruse food blogs, skim through culinary periodicals to satisfy my craving.
And recently I splurged on a one-year subscription to Bon Appétit magazine.

I had the June issue in my hand and turned to a Summer Squash Sauté. I made a bee-line to the grocery store to get the required ingredients all of which I knew I loved but had never had together in one bite.

Matchstick Zucchini

Matchstick Zucchini

Matchstick Zucchini

The dish was light yet super satisfying because of the almonds.
(If you are ever in a stomach-growling situation pop a couple of almonds they’ll keep you and your stomach satisfyingly quiet for quite a while.)

This is also a nice side for a pan-fried fish entre.

The recipe has easy-to-find ingredients however if you lack a mandolin, which I did, it can be a bit labor intensive although the result was worth every chop and slice!

Matchstick Zucchini with Toasted Almonds
2 medium-size zucchini, cut into matchstick size
¼ C almonds, toasted
2 T canola oil
1 small onion
3-4 garlic cloves
salt
¼ t red pepper flakes (or more)
1 T Pecorino Romano cheese, grated
¼ C Gruyere cheese, grated

Process
In a separate dry pan, toast the chopped or sliced almonds. Sauté onion and garlic in canola oil until softened. Add the red pepper flakes, matchstick zucchini, and salt. Cook for about 5 minutes leaving zucchini slightly crunchy. Add the toasted almonds and grated cheeses. Toss and serve.

Matchstick Zucchini

Leave a Reply

