Simple PB&O’s

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars

I often crave a sweet flavor right after a meal and will turn to a teaspoon full of chunky peanut butter to satisfy that craving. (Mmmm, chunky peanut butter – the greatest invention since the grinding of peanuts.)

I’ve always found the taste of peanut butter comforting and growing up my PB & J’s always contained much more “p” than “j” probably for that reason. Yet I realized there have to be a ton of alternatives to using peanut butter in a recipe for a snack or dessert.

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars

While at the NYC Food & Wine Festival I sampled many prepared and pre-packaged foods. One of which was Nature Valley’s Oatmeal Squares.

While I admit I enjoyed the flavor of these I was also alarmed by the number of unpronounceable ingredients it contained. I began my pursuit for a recipe I could use as a starting point to making my own “oatmeal peanut butter bars”.

I eliminated the recipes that contained flour and white sugar and found a five-star rated recipe at AllRecipes.com.

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars

These oatmeal peanut butter bars are full of flavor (I plan to add more peanut butter next batch) and very simple to make.

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars

This is the first time in many years that I am using peanut butter in a baking recipe, but it will most certainly not be my last.

All Time Favorite PB

Here’s the recipe.
Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars
(Adapted from a recipe at AllRecipes.com submitted by Karen Heise)

Ingredients
1 C peanut butter
½ C brown sugar
½ C honey
1/3 C butter (melted)
2 t vanilla
3 1/3 C rolled oats
½ C coconut
½ C sunflower seeds
½ C raisins

Process
Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease and line a 13 x 9” pan.
In a large bowl mix together the peanut butter, brown sugar, honey, melted butter and vanilla.
In a smaller bowl, combine the rolled oats, coconut, sunflower seeds and raisins. Add these dry ingredients to the wet mixture and stir until combined. Press this mixture into the pan and bale for 20-25 minutes.

2 Comments on “Simple PB&O’s”

  1. Charisma says:

    They look soo tasty!!


Leave a Reply

