Opulent Onions & Scone Variations Aplenty

Onion Rosemary Scones

Onion Rosemary Scone

I use onions in just about every single savory dish I prepare so when I saw they were on sale – 3 pound bags @ 3 for $3 (you could also substitute a 5 pound bag of potatoes but I use them less often) – I pounced!

Searched around for onion as a main ingredient in recipes and was not too happy with my choices.  Onion soup popped up over and over and that is my least favorite soup.

Breads flavored with onion are an awesome combination so I searched in that direction.  Many, many bread and biscuit recipes with most including cheese which, since deciding to remove most dairy from my diet, I would exclude.

Although I got many ideas, I went with my faithful “healthy scone” recipe and made a few changes to accommodate the savory ingredients.

Onion Rosemary Scone

I bake scones not only because I love scones but also because they’re fun, easy to make, and the result seems as if a great deal of effort went into them!  Nice!

So, I put the question to you, my readers, fellow bloggers and foodies – what are some really good recipes where onion is the main or at least second ingredient?

Send them to me and I’ll select some to cook/bake and photograph.  I’ll mention your name too!

Enjoy my staple healthy scone recipe dressed in a savory suit!

Onion Rosemary Scone

Onion Rosemary Scones

Recipe

Ingredients (I use organic and free range products whenever possible.)

Dry

1 Cup all-purpose flour
½ Cup whole wheat flour
1 Cup rolled oats
2 T sugar
1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
1/2 Teaspoon salt
Sprinkle of:  cayenne, black pepper, and mustard powder

1 large onion
2 Tablespoon of fresh rosemary, chopped
1 Tablespoon of olive oil

7 Tablespoons cold butter

Wet

1/3 Cup milk/Greek yogurt mixture
1 egg

1 egg for egg wash

Process
Add all dry ingredients into a large bowl and combine; add wet ingredients into a smaller bowl combine and set aside.  Sauté the onion and rosemary in the olive oil until softened then let cool.  Using a cheese grater, grate the cold butter into the dry ingredient mixture and combine, mixture will resemble small pea-like crumbs.  Add the cooled onion mixture to this and combine.  Slowly add the wet ingredient mixture so that dough is wet enough to roll onto a floured surface without sticking too much.

Shape into a rectangle and cut into 8 or 10 pieces and place on a prepared baking sheet.  Brush with egg wash and bake at 400 F for about 20 minutes.

 Serve with soup, chili or even at breakfast with smoked salmon.  Tast-eee!

Onion Rosemary Scone

Leave a Reply

