Pasta Class in a (The) Brooklyn Kitchen

Here’s What I Learned…

Fresh Pasta with Sage Brown Butter Sauce

FreshPasta

Searching for a good (and inexpensive) cooking/baking class in NYC is less daunting with the uses of Google and Google maps.

I was able to locate quite a few nearby using the reviews at Yelp and narrowed them down easily.  I had a friend mention they visited someone who owned a pasta-making device that the friend had never used and he decided that they would make fresh pasta that very visit!

He said it was fun and easy and urged me to give it a try.

I am not a huge fan of Italian food and pasta with its carb-loaded calories, was something I had vowed to eat less of.  So why take a pasta-making class?  I still love pasta but ordinary, dried, shelved pasta seemed hardly worth the calories and going out for Italian food, well it had better be freshly made pasta!  Then again, I’d much rather have Thai food.

This class at The Brooklyn Kitchen was much more than just a class.  It was atmosphere, pleasant and eager students, a welcoming and sweet instructor, two kinds of wine, and a new way to serve pasta – tossed with Sage Brown Butter Sauce!

I discovered that fresh pasta is simple to make and doable in a matter of minutes.  Now I’m on a mission to ONLY make fresh pasta whenever I serve it for a meal.  I can even experiment with alternative flours since I have total control of my ingredients!

I’m planning to have some friends over soon and will WOW them with my new skills!

FreshPasta

FreshPasta

FreshPasta

Here are the recipes.

Basic Pasta Dough                                            Yield = 4-6 servings

4 C flour
4 eggs
4 T. olive oil
4 t. salt

Process:  add flour and salt to a large bowl and combine; make a well in the center and add the eggs and olive oil; mix the eggs while keeping them in the center of the bowl gradually moving the outer edges of the flour to the eggs; roll the mixture onto a floured surface kneading adding flour until the mixture is no longer sticky; wrap in plastic and refrigerate for 30 minutes or longer; roll out until thickness is ¼” or thinner; cut into pieces of 2” x 12”; roll these pieces up and carefully slice to make linguini, about 1/4” in width; add to rapidly boiling water and cook for bout 4-5 minutes.

 

Sage Brown Butter Sauce                             Yield = 4 oz. (enough for 2 servings of linguini)

4 oz. butter
12 sage leaves
juice of ½ lemon
pinch of nutmeg
salt & pepper to taste

Process:  melt the butter and cook until it bubbles; add sage leaves then remove from heat; add lemon juice, nutmeg, salt and pepper; add to pasta, toss and serve.

FreshPasta

My venture to Williamsburg, Brooklyn…

Bkitchen

Fun shop. Loving it all!

Bkitchen

Some of my most favorite things: enameled dinnerware.

Bkitchen

Want these. A bit pricey.

Bkitchen

This was a huge people (or mammal) scale.

Bkitchen

Hmmmm, catchy names here.

Bkitchen

Staying sharp at the wall of knives.

Bkitchen

Here’s where all the pasta fun was had!

Check out The Brooklyn Kitchen.

 

Leave a Reply

