KALE is Comfort Food

Creamed Kale

Creamed Kale & Spinach

Anything spinach, I’ll eat.  Spinach in anything I’ll eat.  Discovering creamed spinach has been a double-edged discovery since so much of its delicious-ness is derived from its creaminess and basically creaminess amounts to high calorie.

However, now that I know how to make it, I have control over the ingredient content!  Yay!

I only recently investigated what actually goes into making creamed spinach and realized that it is not a hard-to-master scientific experiment in the least.  It incorporates a sauce that is made using the béchamel sauce-making technique!  While I chose not to use this technique which includes adding flour as a thickener, I thought that the combination of milk and cheeses I would use would create a thick enough sauce. And it did.

I adapted a recipe from Martha Stewart who uses cream cheese and no flour.

And, since I like to combine spinach with kale and have a number of different ways in which I use kale, I thought that it could also do well in this recipe.

So, there you go, kale and spinach really is comfort food!  Enjoy!

Note 1:  For this recipe I didn’t go out of my way to substitute lower calorie ingredients in particular as I used regular cream cheese.  When I make it again, I will use a lower fat version.  I will also use less butter and continue to use low-fat milk.

Creamed Kale & Spinach

Yield = 5 cups

Ingredients

2 cups fresh organic Baby Spinach
2 1/2 cups fresh organic Kale

Sauce Ingredients

1 Onion, chopped
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 T Canola
Dash of red pepper flakes
Dash Salt
Dash Pepper
3 T Butter
1/2 cup milk
3 T Cream cheese
1/4 cup Gruyere

Process:  wash, cut and blanch kale and spinach; after they are cooled, squeeze all liquid from them and chop.  To make the cream sauce:  saute onion in canola oil until translucent; add garlic, red pepper flakes, salt, pepper and butter and cook for another 3 minutes; add milk and when heated add Gruyere and cream cheese; stir and cook until cheese is melted; let cool then process in a blender; return to pan and add kale and spinach and cook for another 5 minutes.

Creamed Kale

Leave a Reply

