Classifying Corn

Lemon Cornmeal Cake with Blueberries

Lemon Cornbread

Lemon Cornbread

Okay, I can’t find my recipe…  I made this lemon cornmeal cake when I decided to bake less with white flour and now I can’t seem to locate the recipe.

I wonder, aside from keeping cookbooks, how do others keep track of their recipes?

I’m an information professional and former cataloger, and I have yet to devise a system to organize my huge number of recipes.  I find many of my recipes online although I have collected so many from so many sources in so many different formats over the years, it’s getting a bit cumbersome.

My current classification method:  taste bud memory.  I have them in either a hard or electronic file and I remember where to pull them from based on how they tasted.  That’s kind’a crazy especially since my collection has ballooned so over the years.

I know as soon as I come up with a better plan, my anxiety over never being able to replicate that ultimate, lemon cornmeal cake will vanish.

My safety net, online recipes; there are so many delicious variations of this recipe available so I could at least provide a few links:

LemonsandAnchovies.com, Lemon Cornmeal Cake

Perfectlyedible.com, Meyer Lemon Cornbread Cake

Joy the Baker, Lemon Cornmeal Breakfast Cake

Epicurious, Lemon Cornmeal Cake with Lemon Glaze

NPR, Lemon Cornmeal Cake

Lemon Cornbread

This is a delicious, lemony, cake-slash-bread you can have as dessert or even at breakfast with your morning tea.

And although my taste bud memory is pretty reliable, this experience has made me realize I need to get started on a plan to better access these memorable recipes.

Enjoy!

Lemon Cornbread

Lemon Cornmeal Cake



Leave a comment